Rogayan named TOSP Region III awardee, qualifies for TOSP National

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO, Pampanga – Danilo V. Rogayan Jr., a Bachelor of Secondary Education graduate of the Ramon Magsaysay Technological University – San Marcelino, was awarded as one of the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP) – Region III during the Awarding Ceremonies at Colegio de Sebastian, McArthur Highway, Maimpis village here, April 23, 2012.

The 20-year old BSED graduate was cited for his “exemplary leadership, superior academic performance, outstanding achievements, deep sense of social responsibility and involvement, and personal values anchored on faith in God that makes him a true role model and inspiration to the Filipino Youth.”

Rogayan will be representing Central Luzon to the 2012 Search for TOSP National together with other nine regional awardees from various colleges and universities of Region III.

Other regional awardees are Derick M. Dimla, BS Electronics Engineering, Angeles University Foundation; Rae Jan Philippe S. Carbonell, BS Education, Holy Angel University; Raychelle A. Pagdanganan, AB Political Science, Araullo University PHINMA; Marville Cullen P. Espago, BS Marine Transportation, Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific; Bobby S. Caceres, BS Marine Engineering, Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific; Lawrence Charlemagne G. David, BS Electronics Engineering, Bataan Peninsula State University – Main; Jayson M. Perez, BS Accountancy, Holy Angel University; John Aries D. Tudla, BS Business Administration, College of the Immaculate Conception; and Mark Gil D. Tuazon, BS Information Systems, Mary The Queen College (Pampanga), Inc.

The regional winners were chosen among the 20 regional finalists chosen from the applications submitted by the different colleges and universities of the region.

The regional finalists attended a two-day formation program at the Tarlac State University and Tarlac College of Agriculture on April 21 – 22.

Prior to the formation program, the regional finalists toured around the province of Pampanga on April 19 and in the province of Tarlac on April 20.

Other regional finalists are Pauline Mae S. Pineda, BS Accountancy, Baliuag University; Paul Andrew S. Cochon, BS Nursing, Baliuag University; Rodney D. Santos, Bachelor of Fine Arts Major in Advertising Arts, Bulacan State University; Jeffrey M. Tinagan, BS Education, La Consolacion University Philippines; Mary Grace P. Santos, BS Accountancy, Bataan Peninsula State Unviersity; Marvin Rhey D. Quitoras, BS Mechanical Engineering, Bataan Peninsula State Unviersity; Vivien Amor Viloria, BS Business Administration, Araullo University PHINMA; Coco Chanel G. Garcia, BS Nursing, Angeles University Foundation; Ryan James C. Marimla, Bachelor of Arts in Communication, Angeles University Foundation; and Alvin C. Garcia, Bachelor of Arts in Communication,Tarlac State University.

TOSP is an awards and formation program that seeks to galvanize the youth into nation building through exemplary academic performance, transformative social involvement, and inspiring leadership services to their school, local communities and the country.

Since 1961, TOSP has been a laboratory of great leaders. In its roster are the likes of church luminaries Bishop Antonio Ledesma and Fr. Manoling Francisco, good governance icons Rene Saguisag and Raul Roco, social development gurus Vicky Pineda-Garchitorena and Sonia Roco, renowned broadcaster Ricardo Puno, and the current chief of the country’s higher education mandate, Dr. Patricia Licuanan who is the first awardee of the search.

This year, TOSP is in search of that BAYANi student who despite the demands and pressures of higher education, endeavours to serve his country and people; those whose service to the school, community, and nation springs from a genuine desire and passion to make a difference in the lives of many with Every Day Great Examples of heroism.

TOSP is a commitment of RFM Foundation, CHED, National Book Store, Philippine Long Distance Telephone Co. and the TOSP Alumni Community.


History of the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines

He paved the way for nation-building when he did all that he can for his countrymen – from publishing books and poems to awaken their consciousness to the occurrences during the Spanish Era to physically serving those who were fortunate enough to have met him during his short life. He died by firing squad, not for naught. He is Jose Rizal, the inspiration behind the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP), a search founded by businessman Jose Concepcion, Jr., while he was still publishing Student Life Magazine.

Mr. Concepcion, in his desire to honor students who are exemplars and leaders in their own academic fields and in their contributions to society, established TOSP on June 19, 1961, the 100th birthday of Dr. Jose Rizal, the embodiment of a model student who not only achieves academic citations, but also gives of himself to those in need. The Search was held annually until Martial Law was declared in 1972.

That was not the end of the road for TOSP though, for 1989 saw the re-launch of the Search with what has now been referred to as the revival batch. From then on, it has continued to celebrate, affirm, and champion the noble and enduring spirit of the Filipino youth who serves as a role model of academic excellence, exemplary leadership, good moral values, and socio-civic consciousness.


Mr. Concepcion’s vision of recognizing young role models became a continuing project of the RFM Foundation, Inc., the Commission on Higher Education, and the RFM Corporation, in cooperation with National Bookstore, the Rotary Club of Makati Central, and the TOSP Alumni Community. Recently, the PLDT also joined the growing list of TOSP partners – people who believe in the capacity and potential of the Search and its finalists and awardees to galvanize the youth into action.

Indeed, from its roots in 1961 to the present year, the Search has become a laboratory of leaders, producing outstanding contributors in the fields of governance, business, the academe, church and civil society. Among them are Cecille Guidote-Alvarez, Dr. Patricia Licuanan, Bishop Antonio Ledesma, SJ, Edna del Val Zapanta-Manlapaz, Atty. Rene Saguisag, Raul Roco, Sonia Malasarte-Roco, Vicky Pineda-Garchitorena, Atty. Dong Puno, Soledad Aquino-Hernando, Sec. Ramon del Rosario, Paco Sandejas, and Fr. Manoling Francisco, SJ. They have made a difference in their respective fields of influence.

Nonetheless, the alumni of the younger batches are also slowly but surely carving their niches in the circles where they move – contributing time and energy to creative positive ripples that may someday turn into great waves of positive change and enlightenment.

Indeed, there are many more regional and national finalists and awardees all over the globe who have done much for their fellowmen. From contributing to breakthrough researches in various fields and conducting capacity-building workshops involving different nations to helping students learn their lessons and deal with life’s challenges, the TOSP alumni have done it all for the purpose of living and spreading the TOSP Credo – learning, leading, and serving for life.

TOSP will once again be celebrated, affirmed and inspired this year and the years to come by shining examples of today’s youth as they continue to seek and galvanize their peers for nation-building.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s