EDSA People Power Commission

Executive Order No. 82. (s. 1999) created the EDSA People Power Commission to institutionalize the legacy of the EDSA People Power Revolution, rooted in the same spirit that brought our people to freedom a century ago, through a dedicated organization established specifically to institute appropriate means, activities and concerted action that will serve to enshrine EDSA People Power as a continuing and permanent source of inspiration for future generations.

EDSA People Power was a historic uprising in February 1986 that toppled the decades-old Marcos regime and catapulted Aquino’s mother, Corazon “Cory” Aquino, to the presidency.

Executive Order 17, issued last December 22, streamlines the role of the commission. Pres. Benigno Aquino, through EO 17, whittled down the number of commission members from 25 to just seven.


It appointed the executive secretary as chairman. It also provides for a private sector representative as vice chairman and 5 other members.


Paquito Ochoa Jr., Executive Secretary


Herminio “Ogie” Alcasid, Jr., singer/composer, convenor of music and entertainment

Christopher Carrion

Emily Abrera, advertising executive

Milagros Kilayko

Conrado de Quiros, Philippine Daily Inquirer columnist

Jose Pardo, former Trade Secretary

Cesar Sariño, former Government Service Insurance System chairman




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s