New Philippine Money

December 16, 2010, that was when President Benigno C. Aquino III inaugurated the new Philippine banknotes. Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) reiterated that the change of the country’s banknotes is purposely for security reasons. However, our existing bills will still be honored for the next three years until 2013.

The new bills underscore the richness of our country’s natural resources featuring our national scenic spots and unique fauna, though the same heroes were honored except with the addition of Pres. Cory Aquino together with Ninoy in Php 500 bill.

Here are the new Philippine banknotes with their new features:

P20 bill

Obverse: Younger-looking Manuel L. Quezon, pictures of the declaration of Filipino as a national language, and the Barasoain Church in Malolos, Bulacan.

Reverse: Banaue Rice Terraces with the Palm Civet or most commonly known as the Musang from Cordilleras.

P50 bill

Obverse: Younger-looking Sergio Osmeña and prints of the Leyte Landing and the First National Assembly.

Reverse: Taal Lake at Giant Trevally commonly known as Maliputo fish.

P100 bill

Obverse: Young Manuel A. Roxas with pictures of the old BSP building in Intramuros, Manila, and the inauguration of the Second Republic.

Reverse: Mayon Volcano and the “butanding” or whale shark.

The American flag that can be found on the old P100 has been removed in the new bank note.

P200 bill

Obverse: Younger Diosdado Macapagal with photos of the Edsa People Power 2001 that elected her daughter, former President and now Rep. Gloria Arroyo of Pampanga, and the Independence House (former President Emilio Aguinaldo’s museum) in Kawit, Cavite.

Reverse: Chocolate Hills and Philippine tarsier.

P500 bill

Obverse: Corazon Aquino and Benigno “Ninoy” Aquino Jr. and pictures of the Edsa People Power 1 in 1987 and the Benigno Aquino monument on Ayala Avenue, Makati City.

Reverse: Puerto Princesa City Subterranean River National Park and Blue-Naped parrot.

P1,000 bill

Obverse: Josefa Llanes Escoda, Vicente P. Lim, at Jose Abad Santos and  photographs of the centennial celebration of Philippine independence and the Medal of Honor, which was awarded to each of the trio.

Reverse: Tubbataha Reefs Marine Park and South Sea Pearl


So what can you say?


Source: Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s